Burnham Thorpe Village Sign

Welcome to Burnham Thorpe – Nelson’s birthplace!

On this Parish Council website you will find contact details of the Parish Councillors and Clerk together with recent minutes, agendas, associated papers and other useful information.

Next meeting

The next Parish Council Meeting will be on Monday 22nd November 2021 6.30 pm in the Nelson Memorial Hall.. Public are very welcome to join this meeting.  The Agenda has all the information of the meeting and what is being discussed.  The Agenda can be found on the Parish Council tab.

About us


Parish Councils are the first level of local government; making them closest to the community they serve. Burnham Thorpe Parish Council comprises of 7 councillors and a part-time Clerk who is also the Responsible Financial Officer. Councillors are volunteers from the parish, co-opted or elected for a period of 4 years by the community.

Burnham Thorpe is a parish in the Borough of King’s Lynn and West Norfolk. Our Parliamentary Constituency is North West Norfolk. 

Elections: Councillors are elected every 4 years. Elections will take place again in May 2023. We have a Chairman who is elected annually. We have a Borough Councillor who represents us at King’s Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council. We are part of the Burnham Ward of the Borough Council. We also have a County Councillor who represents us at the County Council.